Thunder Bay

Thunder Bay

A Thriller

Douglas Skelton

$16.99

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

Stoirm Island’s secrets are worth killing for in this immersive, unrelenting thriller for readers of All the Missing Girls and Neon Prey—"this crime novel has it all" (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

When reporter Rebecca Connolly gets a tip that suspected murderer Roddie Drummond will be returning to the island of Stoirm, she smells a story. Though never convicted in the death of his girlfriend Mhairi fifteen years earlier, Drummond is still guilty in the eyes of many islanders, and his return for his mother’s funeral is sure to stir up old resentments, hatreds, possibly even violence. Rebecca has another reason for going to Stoirm. Her own father came from there, but he never went back, and he always refused to speak of it or say what drove him away.
                                                          
Defying her editor, Rebecca joins forces with local photographer Chazz Wymark to dig into the mystery surrounding Mhairi's death and her unexplained last words, “Thunder Bay”—the secluded spot on the west coast of the island where, according to local lore, the souls of the dead set off into the afterlife. When a string of violent events erupts across the island, Rebecca discovers the power of secrets, and she must decide what to bury, and what to bring into the light.
 
Longlisted for Bloody Scotland's McIlvanney Prize for best crime book of the year, Thunder Bay has been hailed as "Immersive, compelling . . . [with a] jaw-dropping climax" (Neil Broadfoot, author of the MacGregor and Drummond thrillers).).
 


Author

Douglas Skelton:
Douglas Skelton was born in Glasgow. He has been a bank clerk, tax officer, taxi driver (for two days), wine waiter (for two hours), journalist, and investigator of real-life crime for Glasgow solicitors. He has written eleven true crime and Scottish criminal history books but now concentrates on fiction. His novel Open Wounds was longlisted for the McIlvanney Prize for best crime book of the year. He lives in southwest Scotland.
 

Info

Reviews